Building Evidence to Improve Practice & Health
Meritorious Service Award

Established in 1984.


The AOTF Board of Trustees seeks to recognize members who have made sustained and exemplary contributions in support of the Foundation's mission.

Click here for a list of all Meritorious Service Award recipients.


Retiring and incumbent members of the AOTF Board of Trustees and other selected individuals.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations must be emailed to the Chair of the AOTF Awards and Recognition Committee in care of Jeanne Cooper, AOTF Awards Program Coordinator by October 1 of each year. 

Please include:

  • a letter of nomination summarizing individual's contributions as they relate to the purpose and criteria for selection of the Meritorious Service Award.
  • a short paragraph of no more than 100 words to appear in professional publications citing the nominee's contributions.
  • a hi-resolution photograph (300 dpi or greater, jpg preferred).
  • the candidate's curriculum vitae.

 Criteria for Selection

  • Served at least two terms on the AOTF Board of Trustees and provided leadership in an area essential to the Foundation's mission and growth.
  • Completed all assigned and voluntary duties and responsibilities in a timely and commendable manner.
  • Demonstrated sustained commitment to the Foundation's mission and has helped to assure a strong future.
  • Documented contributions and service of a meritorious nature for the Foundation that are over and above the normal responsibilities of a member of the Board of Trustees.


Contact Jeanne Cooper, AOTF Awards Program Coordinator.


Meritorious Service Award Recipients

2018    Joseph K. Brey, OTD, OTR/L
            Mary Ellen Buning, PhD, OTR/L, ATP/SMS
            Wendy J. Coster, PhD,OTR/L, FAOTA
            Jan Miller Polgar, PhD, OT (Reg (Ont), FCAOT      

2017    M. Carolyn Baum, PhD, OTR, FAOTA
            Martha Kirkland, OTR
            Kinsuk K. Maitra, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

2016    Patricia (Pat) Booth, MAT
            Mary Foto, OT, FAOTA, CCM
            Emily Kringle, MOT, OTR/L
            Diana L. Ramsay, MPP, OTR, FAOTA

2015    Alfred "Chip" J. Chiplin, Jr., JD, MDiv, CPE

2014    Adam T. Drobot, PhD

2013    Sharon G. Ryan, OTR

2012    Melissa Oliver, MS, OTR/L

2011    Cynthia F. Epstein, MA, OTR, FAOTA
            Ruth Ann Watkins, MBA, OTR/L, FAOTA

2010    William "Bill" Farland, PhD
            Nancy Talbot, MEd, OTR, FAOTA

2009    Phyllis Bauer Madachy

2008    Jean Deitz, PhD, OTR, FAOTA
            Reatha Clark King, PhD 

2005    Leopold G. Selker, PhD, MBA
            Gordon Williamson, PhD, OTR, FAOTA

2003    Jean Deitz, PhD, OTR, FAOTA

2001    Susan B. Fine, MA, OTR, FAOTA
            Lex Frieden, MA
            Hanna Gruen, OTR/L
            Ann Hight

2000    Jim Hinojosa, PhD, OTR, FAOTA

1998    Ronya Kozmetsky
            Maralynne D. MItcham, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

1996    Bryon Cohen (posthumously)
            Edward Eckenhoff, MA, MHA, FACHE

1995    Elizabeth Devereaux, MSW, ACSW/L, OTR/L, FAOTA      
            Sharon Stoffel, MA, OTR, FAOTA

1994    James Plumtree, MA, OTR

1993    M. Carolyn Baum, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA

1990    Carolyn Del Polito, PhD

1989     Lela Llorens, PhD, OTR, FAOTA

1988     Elizabeth Crepeau, OTR, FAOTA

1987     Martha S. Moersch, MEd, OTR/L, FAOTA 

1986     Ann Grady, OTR, FAOTA

1985     Frank W. Oppenheimer (posthumously)

1984    Alice C. Jantzen, PhD, OTR, FAOTA


To make a donation,

use the secure link above or

use this form and mail with your gift to: 


4720 Montgomery Lane, Suite 202

Bethesda, MD  20814