Building Evidence to Improve Practice & Health
Academy of Research in Occupational Therapy

Established in 1983, the AOTF Academy of Research in Occupational Therapy recognizes individuals who have made exemplary and distinguished contributions toward the science of occupational therapy. Every year, the Academy of Research invites nominations for membership. After consideration of the nominations and supporting materials, the Academy selects individuals to be inducted into this distinguished body of researchers. Normally, inductions occur at the next AOTA Annual Conference and Exposition. Awardees will have the opportunity to present their research at the next AOTA Annual Conference. 

Congratulations to the 2018 inductees to the Academy: Dr. Bernadette Nedelec and Dr. Ching-yi Wu.



Members of the AOTF Academy of Research

A. Jean Ayres, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (1983)


Nancy Baker, ScD, MPH, OTR (2009) 


Grace T. Baranek, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2008)


M. Carolyn Baum, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2006)

Gary Bedell, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2016)


Daniel Bourbonnais, PhD, OT(C) (2007)


Anita Bundy, ScD, OTR, FAOTA (2012)


Leeanne M. Carey, BAppSc(OT), PhD (2009)


Jane Case-Smith*, EdD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2015)


Sharon Cermak, EdD, OTR/L, FAOTA (1984)


Florence Clark, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (1986)


Sherrilene ClassenPhD, MPH, OTR, FAOTA, (2012)


Helen S. Cohen, EdD, OTR, FAOTA (2003)


Wendy Coster, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (1997)


Patricia Davies, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (2010)


Deirdre Rose Dawson, PhD, OT Reg(Ont) (2014)


Jean Deitz, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (1991)


Johanne Desrosiers, PhD, OT(C), FCAOT (2010)


Winifred Wiese Dunn, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (1993)


Dorothy Farrar Edwards, PhD (2012)


Joyce Engel, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2007)


Marcia Finlayson, PhD, OT Reg(Ont), OTR (2004)


Anne G. Fisher, ScD, OTR/L, FAOTA (1992)


Susan L. Garber, MA, OTR, FAOTA (2006)


Erika G. Gisel, PhD, OTR, erg (1994)


Laura Gitlin, PhD (2001)


Joy Hammel, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2014)


Betty Risteen Hasselkus, PhD OTR, FAOTA (2000)


Christine A. Helfrich, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2013)


Margo B. Holm, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, ABDA (2001)


Naomi Josman, PhD, OT(I) (2015)


Noomi Katz, PhD, OTR (1995)

Gary Wayne Kielhofner, DrPh, OTR, FAOTA (1984)


Mary Law, PhD, OT(C) (1996)


Natasha A. Lannin, PhD, BSc(OT), GradDip (2017)


Mary C. Lawlor, ScD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2004)


Keh-chung Lin, ScD, OTR (2017)


Catherine L. Lysack, PhD, OT(C) (2007)


Annette Majnemer, BSc(OT), MSC, PhD (2012)


William Charles Mann, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (1994)


Virgil G. Mathiowetz, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (2002)


Cheryl Mattingly, PhD (1999)


Lucy Jane Miller, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (1988)


Mary Jane Mulcahey, PhD, OTR/L (2015)


Susan Murphy, ScD, OTR/L (2011)


Bernadette Nedelec, PhD, BSCOT(C) (2018)

David L. Nelson, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (1991)


Kenneth Ottenbacher, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (1984)


Stephen J. Page, PhD, MS, MOT, OTR/L, FAHA (2013)


Shula Parush, PhD, OTR (2008)


Helene Polatajko, PhD, OT Reg(Ont), FCA (1996)


Janet L. Poole, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2008)


Mary Reilly, EdD (1983)


Sylvia Anne Rodger, BOcc Thy, MEd St, PhD (2013)


Joan Rogers, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (1984)


Roseanne Schaaf, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2016)


Mary Lynn Schneider, PhD, OTR (1998)


Suryakumar Shah, PhD, OTD, MEd, OTR, FAOTA (2011)


Elizabeth R. Skidmore, PhD, OTR/L (2014)


Roger Smith, PhD, OT, FAOTA, RESNA Fellow (2010)


Linda Tickle-Degnen, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA (2003)


Catherine Trombly Latham, ScD, OT(retired), FAOTA (1984)


Craig A. Velozo, PhD, OTR (2000)


Patrice L. Tamar Weiss, BSc(OT), MSc, PhD (2005)


G. Gordon Williamson, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (1993)


Elizabeth June Yerxa, EdD, OTR, FAOTA (1983)

Jenny Ziviani, PhD, BAppSC(OT), MEd (2016)

Ching-yi Wu, ScD, OTR (2018)

* Presented posthumously

Nomination Procedures

Nominations for 2019 are now closed.


Membership in the Academy is limited to those individuals who have made distinguished and exemplary contributions through research to the advancement of knowledge in occupational therapy. An applicant’s contributions through research will be evaluated in terms of their type, focus, impact and quality, grant funding, mentoring, research publications and presentations, and the applicant's status as a nationally and internationally recognized investigator.

Nominations must include: 

(1) a cover letter, written by an Academy of Research member who serves as the sponsor for the nomination, indicating the nominee’s major research contribution(s);

(2) two additional letters of support from people who can attest to and outline the nominee's contributions as a scholar;

(3) a current curriculum vitae of the nominee that details research grants, complete citations (including PMCID) for publications and information on people mentored in research;

(4) three to five representative research publications from peer-reviewed journals of the nominee in pdf form; 

(5) a paragraph (in lay language of 150 words or less) describing the nominee’s research to be used in AOTF and AOTA publications; and

(6) a hi-resolution photograph of candidate (300 dpi or greater jpg).

Please send the nomination package using any attachments as necessary, to and use Academy of Research Nomination in subject line by September 1, 2018.

Questions? Contact Helene Ross.


To make a donation,

use the secure link above or

use this form and mail with your gift to: 


4720 Montgomery Lane, Suite 202

Bethesda, MD  20814